Originally posted by Scott Marshall:That's what I ended up deciding on…
t's clear, by his statement, that he didn't miss his trigger - he just resolved it incorrectly, and that led to incorrect resolution of the Cached Defenses. Two GRVs from the same root cause, assess one Warning (unless it's upgrade time already, of course); given your description here, I'd quickly back this up to resolution of Cached Defenses (but I would NOT let him take back what might now seem like a poor play).
Aaron Henner…but I'm not sure whether there is a clear-cut reason to prefer that line of reasoning over Aaron's line of reasoning. This is where I got stuck. Is there something Aaron and I are missing, or is this just a judgement call?
It's clear that he didn't forget his trigger. But it's not “Forgotten Triggers”, it's “Missed Triggers”.
I'd agree if it was all one action: “Put 3 counters on Shu Yun, so with prowess it's a 7/6. Attack you”. But it's not.
Aaron HennerWould you assess a TE:CPV for “take 7?”
I would say no prowess trigger. No infraction/rewind.
Originally posted by Eli Meyer:
…but I'm not sure whether there is a clear-cut reason to prefer that line of reasoning over Aaron's line of reasoning. This is where I got stuck. Is there something Aaron and I are missing, or is this just a judgement call?
IPG 2.1
A triggered ability that affects the game state in non-visible ways: The controller must take physical action or make it clear what the action is by the first time the change has an effect on the visible game state.
Originally posted by Jacob Milicic:I disagree - and it's fairly clear, from the example given, that the trigger was neither forgotten nor missed; the player misunderstood that Prowess would resolve first, making Shu Yun ineligible for Bolster. That's a GRV.
The only way this could be true was if the Prowess trigger was missed.
Originally posted by Jacob Milicic:Sure - but it's an illegal action, first & foremost.
is adding three +1/+1 counters to Shu Yun not taking a physical action and/or affecting the game in a visible fashion?
Originally posted by Scott Marshall:A similar example was discussed at the last New England Judge Conference. A plays a non-creature spell and then attacks with <strike>Jeskai Infiltrator</strike>Jeskai Sage. N blocks with Zurgo Bellstriker. A says “go to damage?” and then says “Zurgo takes 2 and dies.” However, Zurgo can't block a 2-power creature. The ruling proposed by the presenter (which was not official) was that by allowing the block, player A missed his trigger, even though he remembered it and just forgot about Zurgo's text. Would the same reasoning about the original case apply to this discussion as well, meaning the ruling is a GRV and a rewind?
he forgot, but remembered “in time”
Edited Eli Meyer (July 7, 2015 02:30:01 PM)
Edited Toby Hazes (July 7, 2015 02:39:04 PM)
You must be registered in order to post to this forum.